Voyager EMH
Slipper Wearing Plucker of Pheasants
Please state above which of the two things you do.
This came up on the course today.
What do you tend to do?
This came up on the course today.
What do you tend to do?
Last edited:
Officially, headcover off. As a referee, if I see a player measuring with headcover on, and dropping near the limit, I will ask him to take the headcover off to confirm the ball struck the course inside the limit and stayed within that limit.This came up on the course today
I believe so.Is it allowable to “eyeball” and not measure even if you clearly drop within the allowed distance?
Yes, their is no requirement in the rules to measure. You are merely required to drop within the specified area.Is it allowable to “eyeball” and not measure even if you clearly drop within the allowed distance?
For the purposes of measuring under the rules, a club-length is "the length of the longest club of the 14 (or fewer) clubs the player has during the round... other than a putter."I think I m correct in the following,
I take a 2 club length drop using the club in my hand - let’s assume it’s a wedge. I measure 2 lengths and mark the two extremities with a tee peg. I take a drop and the ball moves forward and nearer the pin. I take another drop and this time it moves outside the tee peg by 1 inch, but no nearer to the pin. I then place at the point of where the 2nd dropped ball touched the ground and play.
I think that I’ve played from the wrong place and incurred a penalty as the 2nd drop was in fact valid and I was not entitled to place it, at the point where it hit the ground, because the 2 club relief measurement should be made using the longest club in the bag, excluding the putter. Had I used the longest club to measure, then so the 2nd drop was a valid drop.
Am I right?
Yes, you are correct. "Club-length" is a defined term in the Rules, and means the longest club in your bag, other than a putter.I think I m correct in the following,
I take a 2 club length drop using the club in my hand - let’s assume it’s a wedge. I measure 2 lengths and mark the two extremities with a tee peg. I take a drop and the ball moves forward and nearer the pin. I take another drop and this time it moves outside the tee peg by 1 inch, but no nearer to the pin. I then place at the point of where the 2nd dropped ball touched the ground and play.
I think that I’ve played from the wrong place and incurred a penalty as the 2nd drop was in fact valid and I was not entitled to place it, at the point where it hit the ground, because the 2 club relief measurement should be made using the longest club in the bag, excluding the putter. Had I used the longest club to measure, then so the 2nd drop was a valid drop.
Am I right?
And the definition of “club length” says the length of the entire club is used, starting at the toe end of the club and ending at the butt end. So I would interpret that as not including the head cover.Yes, you are correct. "Club-length" is a defined term in the Rules, and means the longest club in your bag, other than a putter.
I can't remember the last time that I measured anything while taking relief - it's usually fairly obvious, and not required by the Rules.We have 83% of 35 forumers taking the headcover off.
At my club, I see the majority not taking the headcover off.
I ask them, "Why are you not removing the headcover?"
I’m surprised that a rules official would be so blasé.I can't remember the last time that I measured anything while taking relief - it's usually fairly obvious, and not required by the Rules.