Pro-V-1 versus Pro-V-1X

Hoganman1

Visit site
I cannot make up my mind which of these balls I like best. I've been playing the "X" for a few months and have had good results. My index has dropped a couple of strokes since March. However, I found a regular Pro-V-1 the other day on the 11th hole and finished the round with it. Maybe it is my imagination, but it seemed slightly longer off the tee and with my fairway woods. I know there isn't a huge difference between the two. Chipping and putting are the strongest parts of my game while I'm not very long anymore. My drives are between 190 to 210 and my five wood is a 175 club. I need a ball that helps me hit it farther and still performs well on or around the green. I guess that applies to everyone. I just wondered which ball any of you Titliest players choose and why or, if I should consider trying a different brand.

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
ive just moved away from Prov1 and X, with my ever slowing swing speed, i don't think i was getting the best out of them. switched to a softer 3 piece in the Srixon Qstar tour. i would say i'm getting a few more yards off the tee from it, stops fine and is soft to putt, with though my putting has deserted me of late.

scuffs up much less than a pro V, prob get 3 rounds out of one which wouldn't be the case with the ProV.

Also the big thing its almost half the price of a Prov, though i don't need to buy Prov's got loads

Reactions: MrC

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I cannot remember exactly what so it might not help.
I chose the V1 over the V1X having tried out both fairly extensively.
Needing to find a new ball as I had run out of my favourite and did not like the new version

Knowing me greenside control was probably a factor.

I do remember finding them much of a muchness compared to earlier versions.

Trying other makes is always worthwhile and something I do quite often.