Pre-shot routine

madandra

Money List Winner
Visit site
I have been playing this game for 15 years and am off 10, however I have never had a pre-shot routine. Not on any shot with any club and I got thinking

"WHAT IS A GOOD PRE-SHOT ROUTINE AND WOULD IT HELP ME?"

I would like your thoughts on this topic and any advice is greatly appreciated.

chipin1

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I think having one specific action before hitting the ball helps me relax under pressure. I always stand behind the ball and pick a small target.

I don't think this really counts as a 'pre-shot routine' but it I think it definitely helps me feel more comfortable and confident...

The_Golfer

Club Champion
Visit site
A pre-shot routine is both a mental preparation and a physical check list to set you up with the best possible chance of hitting the ball as you intend. I use one on very shot; I stand behind the ball, pick my target, pick an intermediate target at 6-10 inches ahead of the ball, walk up to the ball, square myself up to the intermediate target, feel a slight tension in the back of my legs, fall into my stance and focus on a smooth take away..... never once looking at the target until my ball is airborne......FORE!!!!!! Well I didn't say it would make you better, just give you a better chance, try it.

Trueblue

Head Pro
Visit site
Madandra I am with you, I have beeen playing for about 18 years and i still don't have a pre-shot routine but everyone tells me it would help. Like the sound of something short and simple like Chipin1's "target picking" - any other good ones that won't make me feel like i am preparing for Augusta?!

golfdonkey

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Not a fan of this 'pre-shot routine' malarky. How many of us actually have time to do one? Rely on your instincts I say.

The_Golfer

Club Champion
Visit site