Playing Wrong Ball

stokie_93

Tour Rookie
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Messages
1,116
Visit site
Played in a friendly knock last night, myself and 3 friends.

Playing better ball match play.

Me and both of the other pairing went in the same fairway bunker off our tee shot.

I went and helped my PP play his ball and the other two hit.

I hit what I thought was my ball as was Titleist 3 but left it in the bunker, when this happened I noticed it wasn't my ball.
1 of the other pairing had hit my ball thinking it was his and i'd hit his as well. What is the ruling on this and how do you proceed from there?
 
Played in a friendly knock last night, myself and 3 friends.

Playing better ball match play.

Me and both of the other pairing went in the same fairway bunker off our tee shot.

I went and helped my PP play his ball and the other two hit.

I hit what I thought was my ball as was Titleist 3 but left it in the bunker, when this happened I noticed it wasn't my ball.
1 of the other pairing had hit my ball thinking it was his and i'd hit his as well. What is the ruling on this and how do you proceed from there?

You and the opponent who played a wrong ball are disqualified from the hole. Your partners can carry on.
 
Same happened to me last night in our 4BBB match when my partner and I were within a few feet of each other on the fairway. After helping one of our opponents look for his ball in a bush my partner then played the first ball and I approached the second only to see that was his. We weren't sure if it was DQ from the hole or a two shot penalty but agreed on the 2 shots and clarification later. As it happened, he was out of the hole pretty quickly as our opponents had a par and the best I could do was a bogey.
 
I dont ive ever played a wrong ball, i dont quite understand how you could, unless in extreme circumstances. That said a chap I play with has done it loads but he's wired incorrectly.
 
I dont ive ever played a wrong ball, i dont quite understand how you could, unless in extreme circumstances. That said a chap I play with has done it loads but he's wired incorrectly.

Yes, I did lift clean and place a wrong ball and played it too - I'm such a numpty!
 
Yes, I did lift clean and place a wrong ball and played it too - I'm such a numpty!

I've played a wrong ball twice. Once from the middle of the fairway but lifting cleaning and playing a wrongun is top stuff.
 
What's the process iif someone plays your ball by mistake? Drop or place? And who does this myself or the guy who hit it.

Either.

In simple terms, if the spot is known the you replace by placing, if it's more of a general area that's known then drop.

Normally there's both some evidence of the spot (divot) and the lie is altered, so you would place on the nearest place with a similar lie, within 1 club length and not nearer the hole or in a hazard.
 
I assume if someone else hits my ball I have to go and get it, and then return to the original place? I can't just drop another and then collect my original ball on the way past? Just have to hope that they don't muller a 3 wood.
 
I assume if someone else hits my ball I have to go and get it, and then return to the original place? I can't just drop another and then collect my original ball on the way past? Just have to hope that they don't muller a 3 wood.

No, there's no need to retrieve your ball. In these circumstances you can substitute another ball.
 
Rule 18-1 Note 1: If a ball to be replaced under this Rule is not immediately recoverable, another ball may be substituted.

Q.With reference to Note 1 under Rule 18, when is a ball to be replaced deemed not to be "immediately recoverable"?

A.When it cannot be retrieved within a few seconds.

[h=2][/h]
 
Top