playing with better irons

hovis

Tour Winner
Visit site
i've been playing golf for 18 months now with a handicap of 17. i practice pretty much every day. i currently use ap1's.

as a bonus for landing a big contract my boss who also plays golf is treating me to a new set of irons. do i go for a players iron, like a Ap2, mizuno mp53 or TM MB's or stay with the game improvement irons. i know i hit the later better and perhaps moving to a players iron will initially worsen my game but is it a case of playing into them? i dont want to buy a set of irons that i will play out of, but worry i might be ahead of myself and bitting off more than i can chew.

you thoughts would be great

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
If you can't arrange for a custom fit and like the AP1s I am sure that you wouln love the ap2's. The new ones feel really good

Chris

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
Just give them a try.

If your improving why not, theres plenty of guys on here with higher handicaps than you using better player irons.

why not have a look at the Mizuno JPX pro as well, a few guys on here have them, forgiving and workable i believe.

Piece

Tour Winner
Visit site
i've been playing golf for 18 months now with a handicap of 17. i practice pretty much every day. i currently use ap1's.

as a bonus for landing a big contract my boss who also plays golf is treating me to a new set of irons. do i go for a players iron, like a Ap2, mizuno mp53 or TM MB's or stay with the game improvement irons. i know i hit the later better and perhaps moving to a players iron will initially worsen my game but is it a case of playing into them? i dont want to buy a set of irons that i will play out of, but worry i might be ahead of myself and bitting off more than i can chew.

you thoughts would be great