• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Playing Partner hit my ball into a lake (thats what I reckon anyway!)

Farmergeddon

Assistant Pro
Joined
Dec 11, 2014
Messages
161
Location
Bedale N Yorks
Visit site
Playing in a Society day with two guys I had never met before we got as far as the 7th, a dog leg right over water, 2 of us hit good drives that ran out of sight, when we got there on was just in the semi the other 10 yds on in the fairway.. This guy says 'this ones mine' and promptly launches it into the lake, when we get to the other ball its not mine.. I suggest he had hit the wrong ball when they both got a little arsy, SAying I must be mistaken, I was hitting Calleway with a red line, its all I have in my bag.. this one was a Srixon AD333 with no line ... I knew he was hitting Srixon but wasnt going to get worked up after all I was a guest.. My question is what should have been the proper way for me to proceed ( I just picked the ball up and took the blot!).. I assume I should have had taken a lost ball.. and gone back to hit another, AND just for fun what would the other guys penalty have been for hitting the wrong ball in to a hazard, I assume where the ball went was not involved it was just the wrong ball that counted?? Thanks..
 
Afraid that if you can't be certain that he hit your ball, then you have to take it on the chin, and proceed under lost ball rule. Likewise, if you can't be certain, or prove, that he has played a wrong ball, then you have to let it lie. It will be him who knows if he's cheated or not.
 
Re the other bloke playing a wrong ball, it doesn't matter where he hits it or how many times, any strokes made at a wrong ball are not counted. He only takes the general penalty once and if he doesn't correct the mistake before playing from the next tee he gets DQ.
 
Based on the loose outline you have painted, if he had positively identified the other (remaining) ball as his and there was no reason to belive the ball he played had been other than yours, you would have been able to replace your ball (substitution available and clearly necessary!) and continue. He would have been able to continue with his ball, adding a 2 shot penalty as posted above. Basically he's in the same position and you are happy (but minus a ball...).

Frankly, he doesn't sound a great person to be out on the course with.

As an example, if both the balls had been found in light rough after a brief search, it would be significantly more difficult to know that the ball he played was yours and in the absence of some additional evidence (eg. he making a comment such as "I wondered how that red stripe had got on my ball") you would have to proceed under 27.1
 
Top