• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Playing a ball in a red staked penalty area

I'll dig this thread up because my query is related. A player chooses to play their ball from inside a red penalty area and proceeds to then dunk it deep into the water, I presumed that the relief options are exactly the same as before the shot was made? The point that the ball crossed the line of the penalty area is as it was before the shot was taken so the options are the same. Seems straightforward enough, however I was queried on it but I can see no other way forward.
 
A player chooses to play their ball from inside a red penalty area and proceeds to then dunk it deep into the water, I presumed that the relief options are exactly the same as before the shot was made?
That is a correct presumption, but see Rule 17.2a.
 
Top