Pitch Mark Repair

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,958
Location
Norfolk
Visit site
Reading this months mag, i'm sure (unless I read it wrong) they said you can repair a pitch mark if on the line of your putt for no penalty, so if you putt on the green and your ball stops in a pitch mark on are you allowed to mark and lift your ball to repair the mark?

Also if you plug in you own mark in the rough are you allowed to again lift and repair?
 
Reading this months mag, i'm sure (unless I read it wrong) they said you can repair a pitch mark if on the line of your putt for no penalty, so if you putt on the green and your ball stops in a pitch mark on are you allowed to mark and lift your ball to repair the mark?

Also if you plug in you own mark in the rough are you allowed to again lift and repair?

You are allowed to repair all pitch marks on the green regardless of whether they are on the line of your put.

You cannot lift and repair a plugged ball in the rough unless their is a local rule in place that allows you to do so.
 
You may however lift, clean and drop a ball that is plugged in a closely mown area (eg fairway or fringe). But you should not repair the hole until you have played your ball.
 
You are allowed to repair all pitch marks on the green regardless of whether they are on the line of your put.

.

Can i just ask on this , does this rule change in a matchplay comp ?

Reason i ask is , i got in a "debate" with 2 cat 1 golfers re an incident in a matchplay comp ,

guy was just off the green putting , opponents ball pitched on the green, on the line line of the putt , opponent was in no hurry to repair it ..

I asked "why didnt you just repair it yourself "? he said he couldnt .. i told him as far as i was aware there was no problem doing it .. there is no problem is there ? or has this just been allowed in the new rules update ..

He seemed suprised when i told him if his ball was at rest in the fringe & then his opponents ball pitched in the fringe on his line that he could repair that aswell ..

Wouldnt believe me tho ..

Thanks
 
I was pulled up in a comp when I putted then my ball stopped in a small pitch mark, the guys I was playing with informed me I was not allowed to reapir the mark as it is just bad luck.
 
I was pulled up in a comp when I putted then my ball stopped in a small pitch mark, the guys I was playing with informed me I was not allowed to reapir the mark as it is just bad luck.

If it was clearly a hole made by the pitch of a ball then the guys you were playing with were wrong. But you are not permitted to repair any other inconsistencies on the green.
 
Can i just ask on this , does this rule change in a matchplay comp ?

Reason i ask is , i got in a "debate" with 2 cat 1 golfers re an incident in a matchplay comp ,

guy was just off the green putting , opponents ball pitched on the green, on the line line of the putt , opponent was in no hurry to repair it ..

I asked "why didnt you just repair it yourself "? he said he couldnt .. i told him as far as i was aware there was no problem doing it .. there is no problem is there ? or has this just been allowed in the new rules update ..

He seemed suprised when i told him if his ball was at rest in the fringe & then his opponents ball pitched in the fringe on his line that he could repair that aswell ..

Wouldnt believe me tho ..

Thanks

posted a lot of aparently different things here - will try and answer what I think you are asking!

If a player (fellow competitor or opponent) wishes a pitch mark that may influence his ball not to be repaired then he is entitled to do so and you should either leave it to him to resolve or wait to repair it after he has played.

If, on the otherhand, you are highlighting that the players ball was off the green and he believed that he couldn't repair anything because of the status of his ball, then, as you sugest, this is incorrect - it's the nature of the damage (pitchmark) and where situated (on the green) and when it occurs (if it occurs after your ball comes to rest you can repair most things anywhere) but not where your ball is sitting :)
 
Duncan,

Regarding your answer about the first "If" - can you elucidate the rationale. No reason to doubt it, but am not following you? On first thought, I agreed - but now I'm confusing myself. I know you're entitled to the lie your stroke gave you but does exception 2 to rule 1-2 make any difference?

And if the pitch mark was made after player A's ball came to rest, could player A still i) request, or ii) instruct, player B (who's ball made the pitch mark) not to repair the pitch mark? (Can't think of a sensible reason why they would not want it repaired, but there's folk and theres folk...)
 
Duncan,

Regarding your answer about the first "If" - can you elucidate the rationale. No reason to doubt it, but am not following you? On first thought, I agreed - but now I'm confusing myself. I know you're entitled to the lie your stroke gave you but does exception 2 to rule 1-2 make any difference?

And if the pitch mark was made after player A's ball came to rest, could player A still i) request, or ii) instruct, player B (who's ball made the pitch mark) not to repair the pitch mark? (Can't think of a sensible reason why they would not want it repaired, but there's folk and theres folk...)

rulefan's highlighted the relevant decision that covers loose impediment, moveable obstructions and by analogy a pitchmark.

so then we need to look at the timing - whilst the general premise here (basically that the player is entitled to the shot he had when his ball came to rest) it is a rib of the green if he perceives an advantage and wishes to leave the damage (or whatever).

for example, A's waiting to chip and B's approach shot clatters into an overhead tree dislodging a branch that comes to rest behind the hole from A's position - basically lucky A, ha can choose to leave it, or remove it, at his choice.
 
And if the pitch mark was made after player A's ball came to rest, could player A still i) request, or ii) instruct, player B (who's ball made the pitch mark) not to repair the pitch mark? (Can't think of a sensible reason why they would not want it repaired, but there's folk and theres folk...)

Re the above, the following Decision also appears to be relevant:

16-1c/2 Ball Mark in Position to Assist Opponent

"Q. A and B are playing a match. At a par-3 hole, both are on the green with their tee shots. A's ball comes to rest four feet from the hole. B's ball is fifteen feet from the hole. Upon reaching the green, A prepares to repair his ball mark. B tells A not to do so until he (B) has putted because A's ball mark is so situated that B's ball might be deflected into the hole by it. A objects, stating that he wishes to repair his ball mark immediately. May A do so?

"A. No. If A were to repair the ball mark, he would lose the hole under Rule 1-2. A has no right to repair a ball mark affecting B's play if B requests A not to repair it, unless the ball mark also physically affects A's play and it is A's turn to play."
 
Top