Picked up my ball in error in fringe

Liverbirdie

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
13,166
Location
liverpool
Visit site
Playing in a machplay singles game tonight and 2 of us hit the par 3 green in one.

My opponent says your ball is in the fringe. I was further away from the hole, so me to go first.

20 seconds later - Blonde moment - I then marked my ball then picked it up in error, forgetting it was off the green.

I then made my oppo aware of what I had done, as he had not seen me do it.

I said it may be a 1 shot penalty, maybe a 2 shot, possibly even loss of hole as it was matchplay.

I replaced my ball back next to my marker, then holed the putt with my second shot.

My oppo got a 3. No-one was on any shots.

Did I halve the hole, if a 1 shot penalty or is it a 2 shot penalty, or even loss of hole in matchplay?

I looked on the R and A site for a bit, but closest I could get was rule 18-2, but it just says a 1 shot penalty.

I won the match anyway, and we always kept in mind that this hole could have been a loss or a halve for me, but interested to know, as it does have an effect on our OOM points.

Thanks.:thup:
 
I've done this twice in trophy comps. Once the penalty kept me out of the prizes, the other time it didn't.
Now when I see my ball is on the fringe, I stuff my right hand firmly in my pocket to stop me from marking it in error!
 
Knob.........
who did you beat????

Karl.

He was 1 up after 1.
I then won 5 out of the next 6.
Out of the next 6 he deffo won 5, with this hole possibly making 6 of them won.
We were keeping it in mind that he was then either 1 up or 2 up.
I then won the next 4, so luckily it didn't matter too much in the end.

Thanks for your input people, it mentioned that it was a 1 stroke penalty, but wasn't sure if it was the right rule, and didn't mention anything different for matchplay. I just wanted to make sure, the people in the NW OOM will know why I need clarification, as every win on a hole gets extra points, its not just the match result for this comp we're doing.

Cheers.:thup:
 
Karl.

He was 1 up after 1.
I then won 5 out of the next 6.
Out of the next 6 he deffo won 5, with this hole possibly making 6 of them won.
We were keeping it in mind that he was then either 1 up or 2 up.
I then won the next 4, so luckily it didn't matter too much in the end.

Thanks for your input people, it mentioned that it was a 1 stroke penalty, but wasn't sure if it was the right rule, and didn't mention anything different for matchplay. I just wanted to make sure, the people in the NW OOM will know why I need clarification, as every win on a hole gets extra points, its not just the match result for this comp we're doing.

Cheers.:thup:

For some reason, I thought that you couldn't proceeed in match play with two scores in mind? I may/very likely am wrong, but I thought it had to be settled and agreed at the time?
 
For some reason, I thought that you couldn't proceeed in match play with two scores in mind? I may/very likely am wrong, but I thought it had to be settled and agreed at the time?

no, that's exactly how it should have proceeded.

"that's a 1 shot penalty and the hole is halved"
"no, I think it's a 2 shot penalty and I'm claiming the hole as a result"
"OK, I understand your claim and we will refer it for a ruling when we get in - mean time the match status is one of 2 possible scores"
 
For some reason, I thought that you couldn't proceeed in match play with two scores in mind? I may/very likely am wrong, but I thought it had to be settled and agreed at the time?

Can't proceed by playing 2 balls as you would in stroke play but the opponent should make a claim where there is a dispute before proceeding under rule 2-5.

A rule of thumb for future would be that where a 1 stroke penalty mentioned then this is equal in both match and stroke play formats. 2 stroke penalty in stroke play = loss of hole in matchplay.
 
no, that's exactly how it should have proceeded.

"that's a 1 shot penalty and the hole is halved"
"no, I think it's a 2 shot penalty and I'm claiming the hole as a result"
"OK, I understand your claim and we will refer it for a ruling when we get in - mean time the match status is one of 2 possible scores"

Ahhh brilliant. I'm getting confused with the point about not being able to play two balls in matchplay.

Thanks for clearing that up! (and palindromicbob as well!)
 
no, that's exactly how it should have proceeded.

"that's a 1 shot penalty and the hole is halved"
"no, I think it's a 2 shot penalty and I'm claiming the hole as a result"
"OK, I understand your claim and we will refer it for a ruling when we get in - mean time the match status is one of 2 possible scores"

Thanks Duncan, where you there?:)

Exactly what we did.
 
Top