Penalty or Not - on Green

albie999

Newbie
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
241
Location
Newport, Wales
Visit site
Had an issue this weekend, just wondered who and what then penalty should be

OK ... so ... 2 players, both balls on the green .. mine is about 4 ft from the flag, but I have not marked it yet. The other player then plays his putt (probably around 15ft from the flag) misjudges his distance and hits my ball - at this point, who should get penalised?

Second issue, I go ahead and then putt my ball after the above, however, I have not moved my ball back to its original position ... again, do I get a penalty?

Thanks in advance
 
Assuming stroke play.
If the player’s ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes). The stroke counts and the ball must be played as it lies. Your ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated)
 
Last edited:
We were playing stableford in this instance.

In terms of my ball, I did not replace it (it actually was further away from the hole after it got hit) ... so as I did not replace, should I therefore have got a penalty? After we discussed this with the society captain (it was not a club match), they advised I did not have a penalty

I am asking mainly for my own future knowledge
 
Stableford is a form of strokeplay. It is just that the scoring is different - points instead of strokes. Matchplay is the alternative to strokeplay.
As you did not replace your ball you played from a wrong place with a 1 2 stroke penalty.
 
Last edited:
Stableford is a form of strokeplay. It is just that the scoring is different - points instead of strokes. Matchplay is the alternative to strokeplay.
As you did not replace your ball you played from a wrong place with a 1 stroke penalty.
Thanks for the info ... learnt and understood for future reference ..... luckily as only a society match, and not a full comp ... got away with that one ;-)
 
Stableford is a form of strokeplay. It is just that the scoring is different - points instead of strokes. Matchplay is the alternative to strokeplay.
As you did not replace your ball you played from a wrong place with a 1 stroke penalty.
Wouldn't that be a two stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place? (Rule 9.6 and 14.7)
 
What's the thinking behind this being a penalty in Strokeplay but not in Matchplay..?
The rule protects the interests of the other competitors in stroke play; in a match you protect your own interests (or make your subjective assessment that the other player won't gain an advantage if you leave it there).
 
The rule protects the interests of the other competitors in stroke play; in a match you protect your own interests (or make your subjective assessment that the other player won't gain an advantage if you leave it there).
Do we have a Rule reference for this please??
 
Then no penalty to your opponent for hitting your ball, but loss of hole to you for playing from a wrong place.


I think there is a bit of loose use of terms such as match. There was a suggestion it was a society and the format was stableford.
 
Then no penalty to your opponent for hitting your ball, but loss of hole to you for playing from a wrong place.

Colin I thought the exception for match play had been removed in the 2019 rules

Rule 11.1 simply states
Exception – Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play: If the player’s ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes).
 
Colin I thought the exception for match play had been removed in the 2019 rules

Rule 11.1 simply states
Exception – Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play: If the player’s ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes).
You missed part of what is in that Exception to Rule 11.1a. It begins, "Exception - Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play:"
 
Colin I thought the exception for match play had been removed in the 2019 rules

Rule 11.1 simply states
Exception – Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play: If the player’s ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes).
You missed part of what is in that Exception to Rule 11.1a. It begins, "Exception - Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play:"
Yeah.... think I've got it now also. :):)
Seems like no change then?
Is that right?
Thanks.
 
So... we had an incident THE OTHER YEAR THAT didn't get satisfactorily resolved.
in match play we had a ball near the pin and while we were walking around the opposition putted up from a distance on the green and hit our ball stopping near the pin. We had chipped our ball there & busy walking around with trolleys so hadn't realised that they were putting up. they didn't ask. nothing was said before the putt & it was pretty clear that they were taking advantage of the ball acting as a stopper. Led to them winning the hole & some ill feelings
What could we have claimed/reasonably expected, under those circumstances?
After we chipped up close how shud things have gone on to prevent this scenario?
What's the parties 'responsibilities'?
 
Last edited:
Top