Another ambiguous rule? When does moving a ball aside become testing the surface? For example, if I mark my FC’s ball and roll it a few feet out of the way, it seems that is OK. What if my FC is tending the flag for me and I roll his ball to him taking note of the speed of the green and any borrows as I do so, all under the guise of giving him his ball? Surely that would be testing the green?
Another ambiguous rule? When does moving a ball aside become testing the surface? For example, if I mark my FC’s ball and roll it a few feet out of the way, it seems that is OK. What if my FC is tending the flag for me and I roll his ball to him taking note of the speed of the green and any borrows as I do so, all under the guise of giving him his ball? Surely that would be testing the green?
Having played for 30 years I was always under the impression that rolling a ball on the green was a big no no!
Another ambiguous rule? When does moving a ball aside become testing the surface? For example, if I mark my FC’s ball and roll it a few feet out of the way, it seems that is OK. What if my FC is tending the flag for me and I roll his ball to him taking note of the speed of the green and any borrows as I do so, all under the guise of giving him his ball? Surely that would be testing the green?
Having played for 30 years I was always under the impression that rolling a ball on the green was a big no no!
The part of this thread which amazed me most is that there is no penalty for moving someone else's ball when they are not there. I would be unhappy with someone doing so even when I was there!
Do you play "ready golf" (ie playing out of the order specified in Rule 10) to expedite play?
But it is correct for stroke play - no penalty if ball moved (or lifted) by a fellow-competitor. But it's different in match play, where an opponent who moves (or lifts) a player's ball without authority (other than during search) incurs a one stroke penalty.I don't see how this is relevant. Regardless of the order you are playing in, moving another players ball must be unacceptable.
I can agree with requesting that a player move their ball, but not to move it under entirely your own steam. The ruling referred to in post #2 just doesn't seem appropriate.