• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Penalty for playing own ball when moved without authorisation!

It could be. But very unlikely.

Knocking the ball aside is the equivalent of lifting it under Rule 20-1. There would be no penalty unless the act was for the purpose of testing the putting surface (Rule 16-1d) or playing a practice stroke (Rule 7-2)


 
The part of this thread which amazed me most is that there is no penalty for moving someone else's ball when they are not there. I would be unhappy with someone doing so even when I was there!
 
It could be. But very unlikely.

Knocking the ball aside is the equivalent of lifting it under Rule 20-1. There would be no penalty unless the act was for the purpose of testing the putting surface (Rule 16-1d) or playing a practice stroke (Rule 7-2)


Another ambiguous rule? When does moving a ball aside become testing the surface? For example, if I mark my FC’s ball and roll it a few feet out of the way, it seems that is OK. What if my FC is tending the flag for me and I roll his ball to him taking note of the speed of the green and any borrows as I do so, all under the guise of giving him his ball? Surely that would be testing the green?
Having played for 30 years I was always under the impression that rolling a ball on the green was a big no no!
 
Another ambiguous rule? When does moving a ball aside become testing the surface? For example, if I mark my FC’s ball and roll it a few feet out of the way, it seems that is OK. What if my FC is tending the flag for me and I roll his ball to him taking note of the speed of the green and any borrows as I do so, all under the guise of giving him his ball? Surely that would be testing the green?
Having played for 30 years I was always under the impression that rolling a ball on the green was a big no no!

It's not any ambiguity but it is the old problem of intent.


However, your final sentence is worth noting, particularly if the path coincides with your intended line of putt.
 
Another ambiguous rule? When does moving a ball aside become testing the surface? For example, if I mark my FC’s ball and roll it a few feet out of the way, it seems that is OK. What if my FC is tending the flag for me and I roll his ball to him taking note of the speed of the green and any borrows as I do so, all under the guise of giving him his ball? Surely that would be testing the green?
Having played for 30 years I was always under the impression that rolling a ball on the green was a big no no!

Not really.

The rule is about testing the surface not rolling a ball per se.(During the*stipulated round, a player must not test the surface of any*putting green*by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface.)
You know why you are doing whatever you are doing, and you apply the rule to your actions (unless they get referred to the committee to rule).
It makes sense to avoid possible breaches and in the second example you give unless you make a point of turning away while the ball rolls it would be difficult not to take advantage of a situation you created in breach of the rule. Another common example is not putting the ball in your pocket when asked to lift it under 22.

Edit - Rulefan typed quicker and more succinctly!
 
The part of this thread which amazed me most is that there is no penalty for moving someone else's ball when they are not there. I would be unhappy with someone doing so even when I was there!

Do you play "ready golf" (ie playing out of the order specified in Rule 10) to expedite play?
 
Do you play "ready golf" (ie playing out of the order specified in Rule 10) to expedite play?

I don't see how this is relevant. Regardless of the order you are playing in, moving another players ball must be unacceptable.

I can agree with requesting that a player move their ball, but not to move it under entirely your own steam. The ruling referred to in post #2 just doesn't seem appropriate.
 
I don't see how this is relevant. Regardless of the order you are playing in, moving another players ball must be unacceptable.

I can agree with requesting that a player move their ball, but not to move it under entirely your own steam. The ruling referred to in post #2 just doesn't seem appropriate.
But it is correct for stroke play - no penalty if ball moved (or lifted) by a fellow-competitor. But it's different in match play, where an opponent who moves (or lifts) a player's ball without authority (other than during search) incurs a one stroke penalty.
 
Top