Older named brand vs Newer budget driver?

Blackdog67

Hacker
Visit site
I am new to golf and have been given an old set of clubs. The driver I have in the set I was given is a Callaway Biggest Big Bertha which I believe is a 290cc club with graphite shaft, however I have been told that a modern 460cc driver will be more forgiving. The problem I have is that I am on a tight budget and can't afford huge amounts for a new Callaway/Taylormade/Titleist driver so my question is would I be better sticking with the old Callaway BBB or buying a newer 460cc "budget" Driver?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I am new to golf and have been given an old set of clubs. The driver I have in the set I was given is a Callaway Biggest Big Bertha which I believe is a 290cc club with graphite shaft, however I have been told that a modern 460cc driver will be more forgiving. The problem I have is that I am on a tight budget and can't afford huge amounts for a new Callaway/Taylormade/Titleist driver so my question is would I be better sticking with the old Callaway BBB or buying a newer 460cc "budget" Driver?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Technology has moved on quite a bit since the Big Bertha, youd be better off looking for a 460cc more modern driver. Either a few years ago model ideally but a lot of the so called budget brands are excellent nowadays and you can get some great bargains from the likes of MD Golf

Dan2501

Tour Winner
Visit site
I'd say your best bet would be to upgrade to a big name manufacturer's driver but a couple of generations old. I'm still using the Titleist 910 D2, which I picked up on eBay for £35, and it's as good a driver as anything I've tried currently on the market.

Crow

Crow Person
Visit site