Not playing tee shot

Understood Colin, was asking if he had another option and could simply miss the hole out and avoid the DQ:D

I suppose he could indeed avoid the 11-4b DQ by missing out the hole altogether. Trouble is he would then be DQ'd under Rule 3-b for failing to hole out. ;)

All he can really do, as far as I can see, is take part in stroke play comps knowing he is going to lose a ball and having a supply of old totties for the purpose; take part knowing it is only for handicap adjustment; or avoid stroke play competitions and get his competitive play in stablefords, and team games like better ball, foursomes, scrambles and greensomes with partners who can make the carry.

It's a choice. I would go for losing an old ball in the pond. No shortage of them if you asked around in the locker room, I would guess.
 
Last edited:
Couldn't he just tee up, knock the ball off the tee about an inch, pick it up and walk on..?
Pretty pointless but would get round the DQ wouldn't it..?

I'd be advising this guy to move on.
There's no point playing at a course where there is a hole you simply can't play.
Find one that you can play and play there.
 
Given that probably only a proportion of the competitive golf he plays is going to be medal play surely the "use an old ball" approach has to be the best option. No problems missing out the hole in s/ford comps (Decision - 32-1/2 Omitting Holes in Bogey, Par or Stableford Competition)
 
Couldn't he just tee up, knock the ball off the tee about an inch, pick it up and walk on..?
Pretty pointless but would get round the DQ wouldn't it..?

Stroke play competition. Doesn't complete a hole i.e. fails to hole out. How does he get round Rule 3-2? How does he avoid the DQ which is the penalty for a breach of 3-2?

(Apologies for mis-typing the reference above as 3-b)
 
Played a couple of days ago and we got to a par 3 over water, 175 yards into quite a strong wind. One of the guys, more elderly, stated he could not clear the water with any club and, as there was nowhere to lay up (steep bank straight to the water) he would just play his 'third' shot from the dropping zone round by the side of the water.
this seemed sensible and saved him pointlessly wasting a ball in the wate, but was it correct?

I' sure there are 1000's of golfers who wouldn't make the 175 carry against quite a strong wind.
Shame they have to lose a ball to prove it
 
The drop zone is round the side of the water, think 10 o'clock if tee is 6 and green is at 12. The drop zone is quite small and between the water and a path so no way to play to it.
it was a match play format so all the comments for stroke play at not relevant, sorry if I didn't make this clear
 
The drop zone is round the side of the water, think 10 o'clock if tee is 6 and green is at 12. The drop zone is quite small and between the water and a path so no way to play to it.
it was a match play format so all the comments for stroke play at not relevant, sorry if I didn't make this clear
You are still left with the dropping zone being an option for a ball in the water hazard - no ball in water hazard means no option to play 3 from the drop zone (it's that simple)
 
The drop zone is round the side of the water, think 10 o'clock if tee is 6 and green is at 12. The drop zone is quite small and between the water and a path so no way to play to it.
it was a match play format so all the comments for stroke play at not relevant, sorry if I didn't make this clear

That makes a bit of a difference. He can just accept he is going to lose the hole rather than lose a ball. Or he might put his tottie in the water and play 3 from the DZ on the sound matchplay principle that you never know what disaster might be in store for your opponent. A good shot from the DZ and two putts and he's down in 5. If I were his opponent I am more than capable of dropping my tee shot on the green and 4 putting. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Top