No swing thoughts only target golf

seniorgolfpro52

Visit site
good morning to all.
i have a question for the experts.About 6 months ago i had a short game golf lesson.I have been golfing for 50 years, and never felt comfortable with a wedge but after this lesson, my confidence boomed.I knew, even without practice this method would work.So when i stand over the ball, i have about 3 things to think about,1 in the backswing and 2 in the downswing.Recently i attended a target orientated golf seminar.Its all about picking a target and no swing thoughts.My question is, If i was to just think of the target when hitting a wedge, what kind of swing movement would i produce.Would it be my wedge swing i have had for 50 years, or the new swing i have only practiced for 6 months. I feel i need to think of these 3 points in the swing to make this move, but i cant do that and think of the target as well.Would be very interested in your thoughts.many thanks,David

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
It's all very well just focusing on the target if your technique is good.
Some people like to play with no swing thoughts, others cant play without them.

I would say keep your swing thoughts, one on the backswing but try and figure out a way of combining the two thoughts into one for the downswing.

SwingsitlikeHogan

Major Champion
Visit site
Before address I decide the shot and club and visualise it. When taking my stance and address I put short focus on some key swings thoughts. I then try and forget them to focus on hitting the shot I had visualised.

Curls

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Hi David,