Newbies first post, advice about joining a club.

Club choice

• Upchurch - Pay and Play

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • Sittingbourne - Full Membership

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Sherness - Full Membership

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Bearsted - Full Membership

• Other

• Total voters

Gentabout

Medal Winner
Visit site
I have been lurking now for a little while reading and learning and getting a feel for the place so thought it about time I stuck my head above the parapet and spoke up.

Im a real newbie to golf having picked my first club up under a year ago after much resistance and being badgered by my boss to have a go. Im now stupidly hooked and have spent too much money!. Not quite all the gear and no idea but not far off.

Up until now I have been mainly playing the local pay and play course (Upchurch River Valley, Kent) and my rounds have ranged from poor to very poor but now and then I manage to string a few shots together and surprise myself with a par or 2 on some rounds and had my first birdie a couple of weeks ago. Ive had a few lessons and spent some time working on different things to improve but have lost my putting ability at the moment.

So now I'm thinking I need to join a club and maybe enter a few comps to give me a focus and maybe even get a handicap. I could join Upchurch at about £100 a year and then a small discount on green fees or I have considered a few of the other localish clubs but at around £1k a year with no green fees. I am trying to play at least once a week but its more likely to be 3-4 times a month so the costs are about the same. Im going to be joining on my own I think so want somewhere friendly and welcoming to a beginner. On my radar are Sheerness, Sittingbourne, Bearsted, I live closest to Sittingbourne at the moment but probably moving in the next 12 months and will more than likely end up somewhere between Sittingbourne and Maidstone so Bearsted might end up being closer although I work in Sittingbourne.