Natural fade... use it or try and lose it?

G1BB0

Money List Winner
Visit site
so I have a natural fade, may be down to being left handed and playing right handed, I dont know.

Should I just play to my natural shot or try to learn to play a draw? I try and draw with driver slightly as it straightens out my potential slice so would this benefit all clubs?

haplesshacker

Money List Winner
mid-life-crisis-man.blogspot.co.uk
Phew! Disclaimer first. I'm no expert, but............

For most of us, golf is a hobby, ableit, something that we want to get better at, but time and money constraints, means that it's a hobby. We'll never be able to earn a living as a touring pro, so as I see it. Kinda work with what you've got.

What's wrong with a natural fade? Okay, so you might lose a bit of distence off the tee, but for those all important GIR, it's a godsend.

I'd love to have a swing like Luke Donalds, but the chances are it ain't ever going to happen. So I've recently excepted that I need to work with the flaws I have and tweak that to maxi mise my game with the least amount of time and money, (or effort).

Work with it. We all have a 'natural shape'. (Unless of course you have the 'time!')

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Didn't do Monty too bad over the course of his career. A lot of pros fade the ball and as long as you control it and it doesn't become a slice then I'd stick with it. It will certainly help land the ball softer on harder summer greens

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
Not being funny Gibbo, if your off 28 and have a natural fade you surely shouldn't mess about with it. It means you can aim down the left side of the fairway and, pretty well, know that you wont lose it in the right rough, or, aim at the left side of the green and get a more gentle landing, taking the left side problems out of equation.

I'd worry about the things that keep you off 28 and not about the good things in your game

Chris

G1BB0

Money List Winner
Visit site