My swing. Comments please.

John_Findlay

Tour Winner
Visit site
Ok. I've not really had a chance to check out my swing on video for the last 18 months or so. I have some footage from Goswick in the heat of battle, as it were, so I thought I'd check it out in slowmo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kftbvFRYgs0

Driver, 6 iron and wedge. All straightish but no oomph. I'd want them all back.

Any comments or thoughts appreciated.

CrapHacker

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
All straightish but no oomph.

Obviously I'm not technically knowledgable enough to answer.

But I'm going to anyway ;).

If these are your 'bad' swing, and your good shots are better, then surely there can't much to worry about. If your bad shots get you there or there abouts, and don't leave you 60 yards left in the deep stuff, then a decent short game will see you ok.

I love the takeaway, even if you keep the clubface closed a tad, and it ends up closed at the top of the backswing. The way you drop back inside on the transition is very pretty, and looks to be very consistant as well.

I'm guessing it's pretty much ingrained, so you aren't going to do any major changes to it anytime soon - and why should you.

I mean, if you think your hands end up a little high, and you make your backswing more 'one plane', then you'll need to change your strong grip, and your transition, and you'll end up getting you body in front of your hands and start blocking it right,or something equally daft.

Would it be fair to say that on your day you are a bit of a bandit off 6? :eek:

In case you hadn't guessed - I like it ;)

John_Findlay

Tour Winner
Visit site
....then a decent short game will see you ok.

Ah. Erm. Cough. Shuffle.....