Moving To North Manchester

tjgreenway

Visit site
First off, new to the forums, so a quick hello to all! A quick bit of background before I get going (I'll try not to be too long winded, promise!); I'm from the UK, but currently spending a year living abroad with the fiancee, she's from Australia so came out here last September to meet the family, see how the other half live etc. We're moving back together in late September, with the North Manchester area our preferred destination. This could change, but is highly unlikely due to family ties so I've been doing a bit of looking around to see what's what on the golf circuit in the area and was hoping for some advice from any other fellow golfers who know the area.

Now, I'm fairly new to the game - picked up my first clubs in January on a four week beginner's course but because of work and other nonsense getting in the way, have only really been playing/practicing consistently since early March, so I'm a newbie to the game. I did join my first golf course over here a few weeks ago, though, on a membership until September, so at the moment I'm at the point where I'm practicing as much as I can, have a few lessons booked in for a couple of week's time and am aiming to have a handicap/be playing a bit of competition golf by the time I head home. I'll certainly be starting off on a high handicap the way things are going at the moment, but hopefully with some tuition and practice I can start to get that down pretty quickly.

So, all sorted over here for the time being, but I'm starting to look now for a club in the north Manchester area for when I get back and was hoping to get some opinions. The main things I'm looking for :

• A nice course, that's generally playable in winter seeing as I'll be moving back ready for the colder months