Moving On Up With Golf Club Set (advice needed)

Visit site
Hi everybody. Hope you're well. I'm new to the game. Joined Boringdon Golf course in Plymouth Devon. I'm just using a Donnay set purchased from sports direct last year. Basic kit. I have seen some superb second hand clubs etc on Facebook Ebay etc. My question is this. What clubs are generally considered the best? What size for me? I'm 6 foot 1. I know a good set will not make me great overnight lol but what are the general advantages of upgrading to better equipment? Im planning on collecting my 14 clubs one by one or more if I can afford it, by purchasing second hand. Does this sound sensible?

Thanks in advance

Mark.

stevelev

Journeyman Pro
www.ecclestonparkgolf.co.uk
TBH I would try to be fitted for a set of iron, even if they are second hand.

If this is not an option, I would opt to be a driver, then wedges, then woods, and hybrid, follow it up with irons. Putter is personal choice and can be found when playing partners buy new.

One club at a time would prove too difficult to get decent gapping which would make it more difficult to hit distances, unless you then had them adjusted in combination wiyh a flightscope session.

Whichever way u go good luck and welcome

Smiffy

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
To buy a set of irons "one by one" is a recipe for disaster.
A good friend of mine used some cheap dunlop clubs he bought from Sports Direct and got down to 10 handicap using them, and a more solid striker of a ball you'd be hard pushed to find.

Doh

Journeyman Pro
Visit site