Mizuno JPX 800 irons

needmoreclub

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Gents,
Any thoughts on the JPX 800's, i have been toiling now for 4 months with these babies, really tempted to go back to my Wilson DI6 irons. Can't seem to get any consistency with them or distance control, and around the greens is a nightmare, the ball seems to come off the face like a rocket. Can a new set of irons do that to you? or is it just between the ears.

A

Alex1975

They are supper hot off the face, its not in your head. they were made that way. They are a cast club that was made for the game improver. They are meant to be supper long, even longer than the JPX pro. In fact when I was fitted for my MP-53 the fitter told me the JPX would be 30 yards longer per club then the 53s.

I had never considered that that would be a problem around the green but I can understand it.

How many games you played with them?

Oh ye, welcome to the forum

needmoreclub

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Thanks Alex, Thought i was losing my marbles with them, i knew they were cast but never thought for a minute they'd be that 'hot off the face'. I find that the distance varies by as much as 20 yds at times which makes it almost impossible to work out clubbing. I've played about twice a week since March with them and practised, guilty of not trying them before just reading all the hype. 'Anybody want to buy a set of Mizuno JPX 800' time i think and go back to what i know and can control. I appreciate your input Alex. :)

DCB

Visit site
What kind of ball are you using ? A slightly softer ball may help.

I tried out the JPX 800s and didn't go for them as I got a very good deal on the 800Pros. I did feel they were a bit longer, but to be honest, I didn't have issues with the spread of the shots. they were fairly consistent for me. If I hadn't had such a good offer on the Pros I'd have taken these no problem at all.

needmoreclub

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site