cliveb
Head Pro
Not sure if this question belongs in the rules section, but I guess there might have been a decision about it, so here goes...
Earlier this week I was playing in an important interclub match at a neutral venue.
I was giving my opponent 3 shots.
We had just finished the 12th hole on which we both scored 6, and this was the conversation:
me: that's a half
him: sorry, I get a shot on this hole
me: I don't think you do, it's stroke index 4
him: it's stroke index 2
We then got out the cards we had picked up, and sure enough they showed different SI allocations. He had picked his up in the locker room and I had picked mine up in the pro shop.
Now it strikes me that regardless of which card was correct (as it happens, it was mine), the situation was unfair to both of us. I was playing the hole thinking he didn't have a shot, and he was playing it thinking he did. We both adjusted our tactics according to what we thought the SI was.
We settled it amicably (he eventually beat me on the 21st hole), but I thought I'd ask here whether there is any decision that covers this situation?
(Of course the moral of the story is that before starting a match you should agree not only how many shots are being given, but also agree on which holes. I will be sure to do that in future).
Earlier this week I was playing in an important interclub match at a neutral venue.
I was giving my opponent 3 shots.
We had just finished the 12th hole on which we both scored 6, and this was the conversation:
me: that's a half
him: sorry, I get a shot on this hole
me: I don't think you do, it's stroke index 4
him: it's stroke index 2
We then got out the cards we had picked up, and sure enough they showed different SI allocations. He had picked his up in the locker room and I had picked mine up in the pro shop.
Now it strikes me that regardless of which card was correct (as it happens, it was mine), the situation was unfair to both of us. I was playing the hole thinking he didn't have a shot, and he was playing it thinking he did. We both adjusted our tactics according to what we thought the SI was.
We settled it amicably (he eventually beat me on the 21st hole), but I thought I'd ask here whether there is any decision that covers this situation?
(Of course the moral of the story is that before starting a match you should agree not only how many shots are being given, but also agree on which holes. I will be sure to do that in future).