matchplay declaring score

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
3,539
Location
Cumbria
Visit site
Was playing yesterday at a par 5 and asked my opponent when he holed out was that a 4 and he said no 5. He then corrected his score before I played my shot.

What score was correct for him and would it have made any difference if I had played my shot?
 
Was playing yesterday at a par 5 and asked my opponent when he holed out was that a 4 and he said no 5. He then corrected his score before I played my shot.

What score was correct for him and would it have made any difference if I had played my shot?

Do you mean his score for the hole was 4? There is no penalty if he corrects the score before you play your next shot but he loses the hole if he doesn't.
 
The Rule Rosecott is applying is 9-2b(ii)

A good reason for this rule is that had you thought your opponent had taken 5, your putt would have been for the hole and you might have played it differently (eg more aggressively) than you would play a putt for a half. You are entitled in match play to know at any moment exactly how the hole stands and equally you have the obligation to ensure you inform your opponent accurately.
 
Last edited:
Top