Match Play 4BBB wrong handicap advice Rule 6-2 a

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
3,540
Location
Cumbria
Visit site
Realise if someone declares a handicap and it affects the number of strokes received he is disqualified.

However this happened yesterday:

An opponent player A said he played off 19 when it was 18. The lowest handicap in the Group was 12 so rather than 3/4 of 7 he should have received 3/4 of 6 NO difference in shots received.

1. Should he have been disqualified as it did not affect the number of shots received?

2. If he player, A had quoted 18 rather than 17 he should have received 4 shots rather than 5 and I take it he would definitely be disqualified.

3. IN scenario 2 if the mistake was NOT discovered until AFTER completion of the round does his partners score count? However if this was the case there may have been holes where player A 18 handicapper won the hole and the order at the next hole would be incorrect. Obviously he partner would have to have played extremely well and it would be difficult to remember who won on each hole.

Hope you can follow the logic here and any comments would be appreciated
 
1. No disqualification as it didn't affect the strokes received which is one of the requirements for a DQ in R6-2a.
2. Yes to this being a DQ, but it would be a DQ of the side i.e. his partner as well. See Rule 30-3e which lists the rules which result in a side being disqualified if one or other partner is in breach of them.
3. Because of the answer to 2, the question doesn't arise.
 
just to clarify - if the wrong handicap was quoted by mistake and the error isn't discovered until after the result of the match is posted, the result stands.
 
Top