• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Leaves in Bunkers

Yes it is, you're testing the conditions of the hazard, your stroke does not begin until you have finished the backswing.

Rule 13-4 Decision 33.
 
Thats the most ridiculous rule i've seen in golf. It's bad enough you can't ground your club in a bunker because you would be testing the sand, surely when you walk into the bunker your feet 'test' the sand anyway. But to be penalised two shots for hitting a leaf in your backswing in a bunker! Bit harsh if you ask me.
 
Don't think it's about testing the hazard as such but the fact that you can't touch or move a loose impediment in a hazard (rule 13.4c rather than 13.4a) which is what decision 13.4/33 refers to. The idea is that in a hazard you have to take your medicine. You can't pick up leaf or a pine cone or a twig that is behind your ball so it would be inconsistent if you could flick it away when making your backswing. Yes it's a tad harsh but that's what being in a hazard is all about. :(
 
Top