Learning the rules

Range_Ball

Club Champion
Visit site
I have been playing golf for about 18 months and have been picking up the rules has i go as you do.

However i have two mates i play with 7 and 5 H,Caps repsectfully.

They have come up with a novel way of teaching me some of the rules (LEARN BY YOUR MISTAKES)

Whenever i play a round with them and i break a rule accidently i might add, they will tell me the ruling and and why and then give me the penalty strokes. So has you can imagine i am picking them up quiet quickly and will never make the same mistake twice.

Played yesterday, i was playing out of a green side bunker and played the shot, the ball went about 3 foot and landed in the sand in front of me. With frustration i replayed the swing as you do after you have duffed, one and i touched the sand with my club. 2 stroke penalty was shouted why i asked you are deemed to be testing the sand ,while your ball is still in the bunker.

So has you can see this for me is a good way of learning the rules and its a lot more fun than having to look it up in a book.

Regards

RB

Nico

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
My God,friends like yours I do not need!

They know that you dont know......not fair!!

You should be warned and told the possible pitfalls.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
It is always the hardest pill to swallow when you are penalised for an infringement you knew nothing about. I got D/Q'd once after finishing 2nd in a comp because I had gone out early in the day and played 1, 2, 3 and 18. I didn't know you couldn't play onthe course prior to the start of your round. I do now.

I think your mates could perhaps lighten up a bit if it is only a friendly (unless you always look like beaten them) and perhaps tell you that you would have incurred a penalty inthat situation and why.