Just getting started

njmathers

Visit site
So as the title suggests, I'm just getting started in the wonderful world of golf. This forum has been an amazing source of information for a beginner like myself but there's one place I feel a little overwhelmed....choosing my first set of clubs.

I know there's a couple of topics on here similar, but I still somehow feel none the wiser.

From what I can gather, second hand is the best route for me to go down as I don't have a limitless budget...I'd probably like to stick under £200 for a set of irons to get me started and build from there. Plan to get out and hit some balls at least a couple of times a week.

I'm not sure if this changes anything...but I'm a tad under 6'3". Would it be best to stick with a standard length while I'm still leaning the basics?

Currently living in Chesterfield, but spend a lot of time in Nottingham/Derby also. If anyone can point me in the right direction for a good set of starter clubs, or good places to look in my area then I'd be more than grateful :D

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Welcome along. My advice would be to start with a chat with a PGA professional at a driving range or club you use. For some tall players, the way they swing means they definitely need a longer shaft but others can make do with standard club. Club wise, I'd go for something forgiving like a Ping or Callaway and go for a large cavity back so something like a G25 or Big Bertha. Somewhere like Golfbidder will have a massive choice and there should be something there for your budget. I hope you find something you like and can use and that you enjoy getting into this great game

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
I would visit all the pro shops near you and speak to the pros and tell them your situation.
Some will be more helpful than others.

They will probably all have second hand sets you can try and or buy and maybe get a lesson to get you started down the right road.

User101

Blackballed
Banned