Joining a Club

Paulienash

Visit site
Hi,

I'm an older complete beginner (lockdown Golfer?), I've only played about 12 rounds. I'm not very good (yet to break 100) but really, really enjoying it. I'm never going to hit it a long way but I love playing percentages and I can see how with enough practice I could improve.

I'd like to be able to play 2 or 3 times a week to try and get a bit better. The 2 guys I know that Golf who I can play with don't have the spare time I do & I don't fancy playing on my own. I'm thinking of joining a club but it's a bit daunting for someone at my level of play & age. Can you join a Club as a complete beginner and would it be likely to be able to play with others at a similar level?

Thanks in advance.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Hi,

I'm an older complete beginner (lockdown Golfer?), I've only played about 12 rounds. I'm not very good (yet to break 100) but really, really enjoying it. I'm never going to hit it a long way but I love playing percentages and I can see how with enough practice I could improve.

I'd like to be able to play 2 or 3 times a week to try and get a bit better. The 2 guys I know that Golf who I can play with don't have the spare time I do & I don't fancy playing on my own. I'm thinking of joining a club but it's a bit daunting for someone at my level of play & age. Can you join a Club as a complete beginner and would it be likely to be able to play with others at a similar level?

Thanks in advance.
I think you'll be surprised. Most clubs have a very active senior section and most are very welcoming to new members. If you join you could always invest in a couple of lessons to help you on your way and use one of the days you have to work on the game a bit

Paulienash

Visit site