Is the "golf swing" the same for every club?

slugger

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Relating to rob_golf1's "hitting the driver" post, i recall once being told by a very good pro that the golf swing is the same for every club, all you are really doing is adjusting ball position and distance that you stand from the ball.

I've also been struggling a little with my driver, so much so that I leave it in the car, but the rest of my clubs have been going ok - more than most of the time.

Is the swing really the same, or is it different to such an extent that you really need two swings to become good at hitting all of your clubs (or three including the putter).

TonyN

Money List Winner
Visit site
I'm no expert, but I'm going to say NO, its not.

Starting from your driver working towards your wedges, you swing gets steeper with each club.

'Swing the same for every club' Bo*****S. Try setting up and swinging your PW how you would your driver.

The driver sweeps the ball away whilst a wedge is a steep angle of attack, hitting down into the ball and trapping it between the turf to get it to fly out of the loft.

The principles may be the same, the swing thoughts maybe the same, but, its not the same for every club.

G_Mulligan

Tour Rookie
www.thegolfpsychologist.co.uk
I could be wrong but I think Seve said he swung the same for every club. I personally think there are certain differences with each group; woods, wedges etc. Like Tony says the driver is a much flatter, sweeping swing and the wedges don't really want much coil or power as it is about finesse and control.

Think about it this way, how often do you hear somebody say 'my wedges were great today but I could not hit my irons' or I could hit my tee shots great but could not get a wood off the deck'?

I guess there are many basic principles the same but enough subtle differences to have an effect. Maybe the truly natural players don't realise this as it all comes so easy to them.

Hooper

Head Pro
Visit site