Irons - Switch to graphite shafts

• Thread starter Deleted member 23344
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 23344

I’m 67 and have a slowish swing speed, particularly given that I don’t give it my all as my ball striking accuracy suffers if I do. I have been using Ping G20 irons for a few years, with steel regular flex shafts. Earlier this month, I played a round on Madeira with hired clubs ... Taylormade M2 2016 irons with graphite regular flex shafts. I really hit them well, even allowing for the jacked up lofts as compared to my G20s ... so much so, that I have bought a set (6-SW) and will be trying them next time out.

Not that it particularly matters, but I’m intrigued as to whether the improvement is due to (a) the switch to graphite or (b) simply improved head design in the period in between ... or both. Any thoughts? Has anyone here experienced a switch from steel to graphite with the same model of iron, thereby allowing a direct comparison?

DCB

Visit site
Prior to my accident in 2014 I was playing Mizuno MP64 with light Nippon steel shafts. I had to completely review how I was going to try to play golf again. I ended up going to graphite shafts, tried them in a similar R flex, but, on advice from my physios, I decided to get as much help as possible, so, tried the Senior flex. What a difference. I was playing an out and out GI club, and coupled with a soft flex shaft found I could hit a reasonable shot.

Recently changed to a set of Mizuno JPX 900 hot metal with senior flex graphite shafts. A better quality shaft this time and it really suits me. I will never hit a long iron as I did before, but, I know I'm getting everything out of the club's with the best shaft for my swing speed. Check out grip sizing as well, a mid size grip helps reduce tension in the forearms and adds a little to the swing speed.

Any little help is welcome as far as i'm concerned.

PhilTheFragger

Provider of Entertainment for the Golfing Gods 🙄
Visit site