Incorrect provisional ball

I was referring to the specific case posed. I'm afraid it's not their decision to make .

Votes by the group are irrelevant. Only the player can decide on his action. He cannot decide if he was right or wrong. The committee or referee do that
Read post #10 again. That is what I was answering
And I believe you misinterpreted Traminator's 'decision' in that post. Seems to me, from the way it reads, is that it's (simply) the decision about whether the ball hit the wires or not. Of course, if they still can't/couldn't decide whether the ball hit the wires or not, then it IS likely to require a 'ruling' decision - by referee or Committee.
 
What a truly embarrassing post. You need to take time to read threads ,rather than posting this nonsense.
Doh! At least, somewhat! I actually got 'decisions' and 'rulings' the wrong way round in my post!:rolleyes: It should have read 'Subsequent action, however might involve rulings based on those decisions.'!
 
I was referring to the specific case posed. I'm afraid it's not their decision to make .

Votes by the group are irrelevant. Only the player can decide on his action. He cannot decide if he was right or wrong. The committee or referee do that
Read post #10 again. That is what I was answering

If the players agree then the players decide but if they can’t agree then they have no real KOVC......so the Committee would have nothing to decide......
 
I was referring to the specific case posed. I'm afraid it's not their decision to make .

Votes by the group are irrelevant. Only the player can decide on his action. He cannot decide if he was right or wrong. The committee or referee do that
Read post #10 again. That is what I was answering
And I believe you misinterpreted Traminator's 'decision' in that post. Seems to me, from the way it reads, is that it's (simply) the decision about whether the ball hit the wires or not.

And something further, if perhaps slightly pedantic.....The 2nd ball was never a 'provisional ball' as per title. Provisional Ball only applies to Rule 18 (Lost Ball.. etc). This thread is about Rule 20, nothing to do with 18. R20C(3) specifically states 'A second ball played under this Rule is not the same as a provisional ball under Rule 18.3.'
 
If the wires are behind trees and it's an off line shot that is liable to go there and there are trees around which the ball might hit, why are you giving relief from the wires in the first place?
If that's asked of me the cables stretch for several miles including a short section across one hole. The are lateral across the fairway and one one side goes through trees before exiting the course.

The local rule is in place to cover the cables crossing the course but it is quite possible this could be approx 80 yards in total. It would be impossible to differentiate if the ball hit the wire when over the fairway or the rough - hence the generic LR.

My original point was that it is not possible using KoVC to say the ball hit a pylon in the trees and hence no relief is given.
 
If the players agree then the players decide but if they can’t agree then they have no real KOVC......so the Committee would have nothing to decide......
The only person who can conclude that the ball did or did not hit the wire is the player himself. There is no vote. He may take or ignore opinions but ultimately it is up to him. The player make up his own mind and act accordingly.
If anyone in his group believes he acts wrongly they should take it up with the committee. They have a duty to the rest of the field.

He always has the 2 ball option
 
Top