Immovable Obstructions?

Beezerk

Money List Winner
Joined
Apr 28, 2013
Messages
14,144
Location
Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Visit site
Had a weird one in yesterdays medal, a fellow pp hit his 2nd shot through the 3rd green, there's a bunker and then the OOB fence back there and his ball was probably 6 inches from the fence. Behind the green is a telegraph pole which the fence is kind of built around, it has a big cross on it about 20ft up which is used a target from the fairway.
The pp said his only option was to play the shot left handed (this was open to debate as he could have hit it out to the left I reckon) and because of this the telegraph pole was impeding his swing (again this was open to interpretation as it was a good 3ft away from him).
He said he'd played with some lads from the team who've told him the telegraph pole is an immovable obstruction so therefore allowed a free drop from the nearest point of relief. I'd kind of glazed over by this point and just let him and the guy in the other group get on with it as I had a birdie putt to line up.
He ended up making par btw.

Any thoughts on this? He's probably right and I haven't checked the local rules yet but it just felt wrong at the time.
 
If as you say the pole is integral to the boundary, it is out of bounds (like a boundary wall for instance) and he would not be entitled to a free drop. There is no relevance to him playing left or right handed.
 
I'll have to check the next time I go down. I mentioned it to my regular pp last night and he reckoned it's definitely classed as being part of the OOB fence. I guess the only grey area is could it be classed as a marker given there's a cross on the pole?
 
Good question to which I don't know the answer. It's kind of integrated into the fence if that makes sense.
As above,see definition of out of bounds.
'Objects defining out of bounds such as walls, fences, stakes and railings are not obstructions and are deemed to be fixed.'
 
I'll have to check the next time I go down. I mentioned it to my regular pp last night and he reckoned it's definitely classed as being part of the OOB fence. I guess the only grey area is could it be classed as a marker given there's a cross on the pole?

Nope. The experts may be along soon, but I'd suggest that the only way it would be a immovable obstruction would be if it was clearly and identifiably standing in front (ie course side) of the boundary fence. Anything about it's position that suggests it may be part of the boundary - and its not an immovable object. The marker being attached would be irrelevant.
 
Nope. The experts may be along soon, but I'd suggest that the only way it would be a immovable obstruction would be if it was clearly and identifiably standing in front (ie course side) of the boundary fence. Anything about it's position that suggests it may be part of the boundary - and its not an immovable object. The marker being attached would be irrelevant.

Good summary
 
Nope. The experts may be along soon, but I'd suggest that the only way it would be a immovable obstruction would be if it was clearly and identifiably standing in front (ie course side) of the boundary fence. Anything about it's position that suggests it may be part of the boundary - and its not an immovable object. The marker being attached would be irrelevant.

Which is why I asked the question. And yes, that's a good account of the situation.
 
Note the focus has been on the status of the post because that's a fact.
There are a huge number of references to 'reasonable' in considering any issues with shot selection, swing, stance and relief - not least of which can be NPR when OOB fences get involved (that's your npr...but I can't play it because of the fence...tough...but I get another club length....yes not nearer the hole....I still won't be able to hit it...tough)
 
Note the focus has been on the status of the post because that's a fact.
There are a huge number of references to 'reasonable' in considering any issues with shot selection, swing, stance and relief - not least of which can be NPR when OOB fences get involved (that's your npr...but I can't play it because of the fence...tough...but I get another club length....yes not nearer the hole....I still won't be able to hit it...tough)

Hmm good point, his drop was a good 5 yards from the original spot and away from the fence by this point then another 2 clubs length after that iirc. He was well clear of the oob fence by this point and had a clear swing at the ball.
 
Top