I'm I hitting too short?

popeye

Hacker
Visit site
Just wondering how far others manage to hit their irons as I feel I should be hitting mine further.

My 4 iron will give me about 170 total, 7 about 140 total and my pitching wedge barley gets me over the 100 mark, usually about 95.

I have been playing for about 18 months and am a 18 HC.
I am 34 and fairly fit and healthy and feel like I can swing at a decent speed (although not been measured).
Are these distances something I should be concerned about? Cheers.

Dando

Q-School Graduate
Banned
Visit site
Just wondering how far others manage to hit their irons as I feel I should be hitting mine further.

My 4 iron will give me about 170 total, 7 about 140 total and my pitching wedge barley gets me over the 100 mark, usually about 95.

I am 34 and fairly fit and healthy and feel like I can swing at a decent speed (although not been measured).

Surely the most important thing is hitting those distances consistently and in a straight line!
My 7 iron goes further then your 4 iron but I have been known to visit the tree ls every so often

brfcfan

Visit site

I would go to a range and get a pro to monitor your swing speed and ball spin. The spin on a ball kills distance, so you maybe hitting the ball too high. If you fancy a cheat just invest in a set of Callaways they tend to have stronger lofts so you will hit a Callaway 7 about 150.

D

Deleted member 16999

I wouldn’t get 2 hung up on what others hit or what you think you should hit, most important is you knowing your numbers and picking the correct club to achieve your distance. I’m mid fifties and your numbers match mine and i’ve come down 5 shots in the last 12 months from 14 to 9.
The old cliche of seeing a Pro may be useful as it may be down to mechanics if it’s really bothering you.

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Distance isn't everything! But it can certainly help!