Illegal driver help required.

Kaizer_Soze

Head Pro
Visit site
OK, I have just found out my driver is non-conforming, was a Srixon XX10. I have been using for the past 2 months, used it in the 3 cards I submitted to get my handicap and also used it in the 5 medal rounds since (won none of them tho')

I have moved very quickly to replace my driver but where do I stand ??

Is my handicap null and void ? :(

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
I suppose technically it is void as you've used an "illegal" club. In principal its the same as using a croquet style putting action or even taking an incorrect drop. Its a breach of the rules. How your commitee will see it is hard to judge. An honest error? Absolutely, but all the info on the banned clubs (rightly or wrongly banned - that's another story!!) has been around for years so you really should have picked it up sooner. I would own up to it asap to avoid being shopped by someone finding out. then at least you can't be called a cheat....

DCB

Visit site
Have a word with the Competitions Convenor at your club and tell them what's happened. Better doing that sooner rather than later and let him decide what needs to be done.

John_Findlay

Tour Winner
Visit site
Absolutely, Keyser. As DCB says, it's an innocent mistake. Own up to the competition secretary right away. He/she won't be banning you from the club and will probably take a pragmatic approach. Good man. Respect to you for owning up here, too.

StuartD

Tour Rookie
Visit site
yes own up.

I think the committee will admire you for doing so. At worst i think they might make you put in another card to see if there are any major differences.

If i was on the committee, as long as you have replaced your driver, i would just go with the cards you have put in already.

brendy

Global Moderator
Visit site