Hybrid Clubs

slowhand

Head Pro
Visit site
Hi all,

This is my first post, so please be gentle :)

I have just returned to golf after a long abscence (15 years), and the changes in equipment in the time I have been away are astounding. I have seen a lot written about hybrid clubs, and was wondering what they are equivalent to in terms of regular irons or woods, as they only seem to be marked in loft angles.

I.e, is a 21* hybrid equivalent in length to a 3 iron (I assume the flight would be different)?

Can someone explain these clubs to me?

Thanks,

Michael

adamk15

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Well I'm no expert but I do atleast own a hybrid club...

I hit my 4 iron about 160yds, my 22° (3 iron equivalent hybrid about 180ish and my 18.5° 5 wood about 200yds. So, it does slot in nicely inbetween.

I believe I probably hit my 3 hybrid further than I would hit a 3 iron but this is only due to the fact that I'm a mid handicapper and don't strike the ball consistently well.

Finally, hybrids definetly go higher than irons, I think. My 3 hybrid goes higher than my 4 iron anyway. I love my hybrid and would recommend it to anyone who hasn't got the fastest swing and isn't a consistent ball striker.

Hope this helps :D

Smiffy

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
Despite having played for over 20 years, I am still guilty of getting the "long iron blues". Fine with 5 iron and up, but stick a 4 or 3 iron in my hand and all chances of a nice smooth swing go out of the window as my grip tightens up and I try to help the ball up in the air rather than let the club do the work.
I've got back into golf big time over the last 8 months or so, and had heard of hybrids, but had never hit one. And to be honest, I didn't want to. I was a "purist" and hybrids to me smacked off "gimmick" like a chipper or alien sand wedge.