how low can you get your handicap if...

Fabia999

Visit site
Hey all,

Since I started playing golf I always knew that distance was going to be a problem, due to medical conditions.

I always wondered how low I can get my handicap with such short distances. Driver is about 170/180, 7 Iron is about 125.

Any other short hitters and what handicap do you play from?

Thanks.

Curls

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Was just reading the GM article about Charlie Hull. She hit scratch when she was 11. I wonder how far she was hitting it? Couldn’t have been much further?

Talk about short games though! And she was out there all day and night. It’s a good question, I guess a more precise question would be: what are you off now and how low do you think you’d be happy with? Then you could gauge (with help from those on here) how much work you’d have to put in and then ask yourself are you willing to do that.

CountLippe

Visit site
An ex pro I used to know had a bad accident and subsequently struggled to hit the ball 150 yards. He later played off 4 or 5 in his society. His short game and putting were beyond good. So in answer to your question, you hit it further than him... try and down get to 3!!!

robinthehood

Hacker
Visit site
As the old saying goes - "it's not how far - it's how many" - keep it straight and focus on 100 yards and in :cool:
That's a new one..... It's very much how far...
But not to disparage the OP, you'll be able to have a very reasonable game with those sort of distances. Maybe into the low teens handicap wise.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
Yeah, your short game needs to be absolutely mustard. It may take you three shots to get to the par fours, but if that third shot puts you close and you sink the putt you're still making pars. Similarly if you miss the green with the third you need to get up and down for bogey.

Bunkermagnet

Journeyman Pro
Visit site