Holed or not?

Skipping over that absurd notion that we want to screw over the players, this man looks at the situation in the photo and says, you can't make judgments from a photo - you need to see it, for real, in three dimensions. And, by the way, the ball is either fully in the hole or not. There is no qualified in-between called "to all intents and purposes".

I have my suspicions that this and other similar photos have all been manufactured, anyway.
Well, that's just stating the obvious. If we were actually judging the scenario we wouldn't be looking at a photo of it would we. It looks into me from the photo. But in reality you'd have crouch down to look more across the surface.
 
Well, that's just stating the obvious. If we were actually judging the scenario we wouldn't be looking at a photo of it would we. It looks into me from the photo. But in reality you'd have crouch down to look more across the surface.

Sometimes, the obvious is worth stating. The point is that an exchange of it's holed, oh no it isn't, oh yes it is gets nowhere.

In reality, I wouldn't be able to crouch down that much, or if I actually managed, get up again. I'd put a scorecard flat on the ground and slide it over the hole. If it caught the top of the ball, it wouldn't be holed.
 
If it were my ball and it was ruled not holed, I would play it as it lies, take a full swing and smash it into the hole with a downward blow.
I would take care to not touch the flagstick with any part of me or my club.

If there is a rule that says you are not allowed to play a ball that is resting against a flagstick then I would point out that no part of the ball is touching the flagstick.

OP photo - ball is completely with the circumference of the hole and appears to be completely below the surface of the green. If both are true - its holed.
 
Sometimes, the obvious is worth stating. The point is that an exchange of it's holed, oh no it isn't, oh yes it is gets nowhere.

In reality, I wouldn't be able to crouch down that much, or if I actually managed, get up again. I'd put a scorecard flat on the ground and slide it over the hole. If it caught the top of the ball, it wouldn't be holed.
Presume that's if you have an old scorecard in the bag? Digitals are taking over many places.
 
I expect I'll always have a card to hand. I need to mark where I or my opponent get strokes, not to mention losing track of match status if I haven't written down the result of each hole. :rolleyes:

On duty, there's always the hard card.

But the phone would be out anyway to take pics of this bizarre situation to post on every rules forum.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D-S
I expect I'll always have a card to hand. I need to mark where I or my opponent gets strokes, not to mention losing track of match status if I haven't written down the result of each hole. :rolleyes:

On duty, there's always the hard card.

But the phone would be out anyway to take pics of this bizarre situation to post on every rules forum.

Another advantage of the scorecard.. you cant photoshop it :sneaky:
 
Sometimes, the obvious is worth stating. The point is that an exchange of it's holed, oh no it isn't, oh yes it is gets nowhere.

In reality, I wouldn't be able to crouch down that much, or if I actually managed, get up again. I'd put a scorecard flat on the ground and slide it over the hole. If it caught the top of the ball, it wouldn't be holed.

So, is the not touching the flagstick nonsense?
 
Can I ask a follow up?

Working on the basis that the ball is not holed (because it doesn't meet the definition) If it is not holed then does it by default become an embedded ball on a putting green?

If embedded the rule for relief from an embedded ball on a putting green is specifically listed (I know you know :) )

16.3 Embedded Ball
a. When Relief Is Allowed
Relief is allowed only when your ball is embedded in the general area. But if your ball is embedded on the putting green, you may mark the spot of your ball, lift and clean it, repair the damage, and replace your ball on its original spot
.

After carrying out the above embedded ball instructions the ball will fall/drop into the hole and be holed? I can't see in rule 16 where it says if it doesn't remain on its original spot then replace it on nearest spot, any help pls ?
Playing Devils advocate, if it is in the hole then it is not on the putting green.
 
Playing Devils advocate, if it is in the hole then it is not on the putting green.
This one is a bit interesting. I've heard conflicting answers to this from RB representatives. I've not seen anything that officially states a ball in the hole is in the general area rather than the putting green.
 
This one is a bit interesting. I've heard conflicting answers to this from RB representatives. I've not seen anything that officially states a ball in the hole is in the general area rather than the putting green.
Surely a ball that is in the hole, is by definition holed and therefore not in play. Therefore it is not in any of the defined area's of the course. Or am I missing something.
 
Surely a ball that is in the hole, is by definition holed and therefore not in play. Therefore it is not in any of the defined area's of the course. Or am I missing something.
Areas of the course are simply a physical categorisation of all areas within the boundary of the course. There are plenty of balls on most golf courses that are simply lying there (in whatever ditch, hollow, forest, pond etc) and no longer in play. And any of them not in a specific area (eg penalty area) is in the general area.
 
Top