Help with my hitting please!

BRISTOL86

Head Pro
Visit site
Hi All

I'm a newbie golfer, never had any lessons, just been to the range a few times, watched lots of online tuition videos etc. I have had a friend of mine who plays off 6 have a look at my swing and give me a few pointers with the swing. My problem is that my hitting of the ball is very inconsistent, so I have decided to start keeping statistics so that I can see what I'm doing with my hitting.

So this morning I hit 77 balls and recorded each shot into the following categories:

Straight & Poweful - a shot that I made a nice contact with, went (relatively) straight and I was happy enough with the distance (bearing in mind that my short term goal is just being able to go out and play a few par 3 courses with mates)

Straight & Weak - a shot I made a nice contact with but got insufficient distance on

Wide Left/Right - mostly shots that I made a nice contact with but veered drastically to the left & right. Also includes a handful where I hit the side of the bay at the range :eek:

Topped ball - self explanatory

So these were my results:

Straight & Powerful - 35/77 (45%)
Straight & Weak - 4/77 (6%)
Wide Left - 8/77 (10%)
Wide Right - 22/77 (29%)
Topped - 8/77 (10%)

So as you can see, I've hit 45% of shots that I'm happy (enough) with and 55% of shots I'm not happy with. Of those "fault" shots, the biggest majority is hitting shots wide to the right.

SO...now the question is how do I get shots out of the fault columns and into the happy column?! Obviously having lessons with a pro would be the best thing, but at the moment cash is a little tight, so lessons aren't immediately feasible. However, a month ago it probably would have been 25% happy shots and 75% not, so I do feel I can make some progress without a pro.