Golf beginner - where to start and what do I need?

paulmartin143

Visit site
I've been thinking about taking up golf over the last couple of years. Other than going to the driving range and making an ass of myself with my friends or playing mini golf, I am new to the game. I know the rules, terminology, just need to learn how to develop and refine my swing.

And I also need to know what kind of equipment I need.

Also, what is the best way to get decent discounts on green fees?

markwarne

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Welcome to the forum - hope you will enjoy reading and joining in.

I am probably not alone in saying that you could write a War and Peace on your question, but for what its worth, here's my two penneth....

Kit
No point in buying the most expensive or newest thing you see. If I were you, head to a local pro (not necessarily an American Golf), make some enquiries, let him have a look at your swing, etc and get some independant advice. Then, and I may get shot down here, I would have a look on a site like Golfbidder. I for one have used them, and they do have some good kit on there at reasonable prices. But as with most things, you pay for what you get. Alternatively, there are "for sales" on here, but look at established forummers (as opposed to the one off speculatory punts).

Lessons
If you are genuinely serious, sort some out as soon as possible. It will get you into the right frame of mind,and stop bad habits before they become too engrained.

Practice
If you can, devote time to following up your lessons with practice. Sounds obvious, but you get out of the game what you put in.

Playing
Nothing beats playing when you start to see your lessons and practice starting to come together on the course.

Discount Fees
Difficult one this. At this time of year, you can pick up cheaper rounds on account of the weather / possibility of temp greens. If you have a couple of mates, you could look into the 2-fore-1 offers (check the website).

Golf Mags