Golf Ball Would Have Gone In

Crazyface

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 27, 2010
Messages
7,816
Location
Cheshire
Visit site
Hi, I played today and had something happen twice that hadn't happened before. When putting at the hole the ball was prevented from dropping into the hole because the flag was in. Now this wasn't in a comp so it didn't matter, but what if it was in a comp? What is the current ruling? It was obvious the ball would have gone in, well it was to me so I claimed the putt. Was I right in doing so?
 
Do you mean this or something else?

Ball Resting against Flagstick in Hole

If your ball comes to rest against the flagstick left in the hole, and any part of your ball is in the hole below the surface of the putting green, your ball is treated as holed.
 
Hi, I played today and had something happen twice that hadn't happened before. When putting at the hole the ball was prevented from dropping into the hole because the flag was in. Now this wasn't in a comp so it didn't matter, but what if it was in a comp? What is the current ruling? It was obvious the ball would have gone in, well it was to me so I claimed the putt. Was I right in doing so?
This has been discussed ad nauseam on here - I can't believe youve missed all of it?
 
Hi, I played today and had something happen twice that hadn't happened before. When putting at the hole the ball was prevented from dropping into the hole because the flag was in. Now this wasn't in a comp so it didn't matter, but what if it was in a comp? What is the current ruling? It was obvious the ball would have gone in, well it was to me so I claimed the putt. Was I right in doing so?
https://www.randa.org/~/media/files...n-the-rules-of-golf-29-june-update.ashx?la=en
 
Hi, I played today and had something happen twice that hadn't happened before. When putting at the hole the ball was prevented from dropping into the hole because the flag was in. Now this wasn't in a comp so it didn't matter, but what if it was in a comp? What is the current ruling? It was obvious the ball would have gone in, well it was to me so I claimed the putt. Was I right in doing so?

A picture would be good so we could see exactly how it was lying. Unless the flag was leaning towards the ball I would expect a part of the ball to be below the surface.
 
Me? Hit a putt hard!!! I don't think so. If I only had the confidence! No, it was more like the pin wasn't upright. ie 90 degrees in all directions. Surely this could be classed as in, as the pin prevented the ball dropping?
 
Me? Hit a putt hard!!! I don't think so. If I only had the confidence! No, it was more like the pin wasn't upright. ie 90 degrees in all directions. Surely this could be classed as in, as the pin prevented the ball dropping?

If before Covid you'd hit a shot from 50 yards and it hit the pin and didnt drop you wouldn't claim it was holed so why on earth would it be different just because it was a putt?

Just read the "rules". Oh well. It's the same for everyone......I hope.

Yes, that's why there are rules surely?
 
Wish I'd had this for my doubles match a few weeks ago against a self proclaimed rules know-it-all! Got the bunker ruling wrong and the flagstick ruling wrong, despite challenges on both from his partner and my & my partner! Insisted he was correct. I'm only bitter because we lost!

Bunker rule under CONGU is 6 inches - no the maximum of 1 club per R&A

I like the flag ruling that it can be held upright using a club by another player whilst you putt
 
Top