cliveb
Head Pro
In a better ball match, two players on the same side (A & B) have putts on the same line. One of the players (A) has already had too many shots but his partner (B) can still win or halve the hole. In order to prevent player A taking a putt to give his partner a read of the green, the other side concedes his putt. He is thus expected to pick it up.
What happens if player A nevertheless takes his putt to give his partner a read? All the rules about pairs matches seem to suggest that if a player incurs a penalty, it only applies to that individual player. Is there a rule that specifies that the pair is penalised in this case? Is this even actually against the rules, or is it more a case of bad etiquette?
What happens if player A nevertheless takes his putt to give his partner a read? All the rules about pairs matches seem to suggest that if a player incurs a penalty, it only applies to that individual player. Is there a rule that specifies that the pair is penalised in this case? Is this even actually against the rules, or is it more a case of bad etiquette?