woody69
Journeyman Pro
Rule 18 - 2 says that if you cause your ball at rest to move you are penalised 1 shot. It doesn't require you to have addressed it.
The facts presented to the referee at the time were that the ball had moved and that he hadn't addressed the ball. The last part of the discussion, brief and almost throw away, seems to be DJ stating that he didn't move it - this was subsequently proved incorrect (as agreed between DJ and the rules officials after detailed review).
OK, that is what I thought. I was confused because you stated that what BladePlayer had said was completely wrong when he said pretty much what you have just said above, i.e. he caused the ball to move.
Ball was at rest , DJ took practice swings and placed the putter on ground beside it , lifted putter , ball moved , unless there is evidence of some other influence that cause the ball to move ( wind , etc) it has to be taken that the players action caused it to move ..
Stupid fast greens didn't help mind
I'm sorry but this is completely wrong (apart from the last bit possibly).