DUAL CLUBS

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
14,829
Visit site
Practise is indeed defined at 5.2:

“Practising on the course” means playing a ball, or testing the surface of the putting green of any hole by rolling a ball or rubbing the surface,

So a player who plays a ball on the course on the day of, and before, a stroke play competition would be in breach of 5.2b (with a few exceptions noted at 5.2b)

Having said that, I thought #1 was pretty clear. The scenario in question only involves a single round of golf with no on-course practice beforehand.
So why is a one day two round competition permitted? And why would it not apply to a stroke play play-off as it is a separate round?

I must admit I missed the point that there would be only one round played.
 

rulie

Head Pro
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,982
Visit site
So why is a one day two round competition permitted? And why would it not apply to a stroke play play-off as it is a separate round?

I must admit I missed the point that there would be only one round played.
Because the Committee in charge said so in the Terms and Conditions? I presume that you've refereed in such competitions and nobody was dq'd for such "practicing"?
 
Last edited:

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
14,829
Visit site
Because the Committee in charge said so in the Terms and Conditions? I presume that you've refereed in such competitions and nobody was dq'd for such "practicing"?
So couldn't the Committee of the second (or even the first) competition specify in the TOC that the earlier competition was not practicing?
 

DickInShorts

Newbie
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
295
Location
Inverurie Aberdeenshire
Visit site
So why is a one day two round competition permitted? And why would it not apply to a stroke play play-off as it is a separate round?

I must admit I missed the point that there would be only one round played.
The first round is not practicing - both rounds are the same competition so only practice/play before the first round is not allowed .
This is the same as this Friday at the masters - players finished their 1st round then played their second round almost immediately afterwards (in some cases).
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
14,829
Visit site
The first round is not practicing - both rounds are the same competition so only practice/play before the first round is not allowed .
This is the same as this Friday at the masters - players finished their 1st round then played their second round almost immediately afterwards (in some cases).
So when played on the same day, the earlier round of one competition is not practice but the earlier round of two competitions is?
 

D-S

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
3,399
Location
Bristol
Visit site
So when played on the same day, the earlier round of one competition is not practice but the earlier round of two competitions is?
I would say yes.
If I played a knockout round (one competition) in the morning, then played in the medal in the afternoon (another competition), without a local rule in place, that would be DQ from the medal wouldn’t it? Or would you rule otherwise?
Rule 5.2 (b)
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
14,829
Visit site
Of course Model Local Rule I-1.2 may be used

Rule 5.2b is modified in this way:
A player may practise on the competition course before or between rounds.


However, I can see why a Committee would want to restrict play before the second competition. Eligibility/opportunity. Some players in the second comp could be excluded from the first by age (say).
 

NearHull

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
1,128
Visit site
Not directly related to the OP question but…. We hold mens 4BBB stroke play competitions on a Sunday morning and often hold various mixed competitions in the afternoon. There are a few men who like to play both, we have made provision for them to play both within our ToCs.
 

LizAig

Active member
Joined
Feb 5, 2021
Messages
187
Visit site
I would say yes.
If I played a knockout round (one competition) in the morning, then played in the medal in the afternoon (another competition), without a local rule in place, that would be DQ from the medal wouldn’t it? Or would you rule otherwise?
Rule 5.2 (b)
I agree that would be DQ - the other way round would be fine as you can play/practice on the course before match play
 
Top