Driver Loft's???

Martylaa

Club Champion
Visit site
Can someone explain the lofts on a driver, tell me what they expect from the lowest to the highest loft please?
Picked a couple up but not sure what loft would be best as i'm new to the game.

Smiffy

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
Tell me what they expect from the lowest to the highest loft please?

Lowest loft = trees, trees and more trees.
Highest loft = more chance of avoiding the trees.
;)
haha
that the technical description?

Not far from it!
Leave the lower lofts (under 10.5) to the better guys.
A higher lofted driver will hopefully get you on the right track as a beginner. Looking down on a flat faced driver does not inspire confidence, believe me.
Don't forget the importance of the shaft in all of this. You could have a beautiful looking 11 degree driver but with an unsuitable shaft in it, you are heading down a very rocky road.
;)

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
I'm glad this has come up again. I've played with a few chaps recently who swing it no faster than me, take the same irons or lower, don't hit their fairways as far etc. but use 10.5 Pings or Taylor Mades and seem to hit the ball further than me with my 12 and 13 degree drivers. At first thought, this seems kind of obvious, but I've been advocating the theory that with slower swing speeds (80-90-ish) more loft = more carry and better launch angle. Maybe I need a re-think. :D

richy

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I have to agree and disagree with smiffy here. Being a beginner i started with a 12* lofted driver almost a year ago. I had a fitting about a week ago and ended up with a stiff shafted 9* driver and I wasnt putting it in the trees. Far from it, in fact I had a lot more control with it. This however has a lot to do with the shaft so a fitting would be the best thing to go for.

Im still a beginner but with a 9* driver :eek:

MashieNiblick

Tour Winner
Visit site