Custom Irons Needed

reborn

Visit site
I'm fairly new to golf, and have only been playing this year. I purchased some golf clubs based on price, and coming in at £220 for the Wilson x31 I was happy to get a set of clubs that were cheap and I could play with my friends.

However, a year in and I'm still absolutely terrible, despite lessons and lots of practice at the range and on local courses.

I keep topping my Irons and I feel that it's because I am having to lean over the ball too much, and my swing is really suffering.

My handicap is 28, but when playing with friends this has been known to go to 36 just to make it a little more competative. I've gone round in 105 before, but generally I'm hitting over 120, even 130. It's depressing and I probably would have given up if it wasn't for a portugal golf break coming up in Feb.

I'm 6 foot 7, and have tiny little t-rex arms. Well, not that bad, but not really proportioned.

I've been fitted, but the golf shop didn't really have what I needed, and said I'm better off going online.

What I really want is a set of irons, 5 - 9 (plus 4 wedges) with a cavity back, over-sized head and 4 inches longer.
While brand isn;t everything, I'd prefer not to be questioning whether the clubs are duff or whether I'm just truly awful.

Does anyone have any recocomendations? I know 4 inches is drastic, but when you're my size and proportions it's pretty a requirement (else play a rubbish game and probably develop a back problem for your trouble).

I know you can't "buy" distance, but when 3 out of 4 iron shots roll about 10 - 20 yards only, it's pretty embarassing and frustrating. In the summer it seemed easier, as I generally just rolled the ball all the way to green after my drive, but in the winter it rolls less and it's highlighting it more (god forbid I have a bad drive, then I'm 3 - 4 shots in just to catch up with my friends drives).

Please help me out guys. :)

El Bandito

Q-School Graduate
Visit site