Confused Slice and Hook

MattCarter

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Hi Guys

I've reached a point in my golf where i am now confused. I have been playing since April 2010 and in June 2010 brought a standard set of Taylormade SuperLaunch irons as didn't know anything about custom fitting. I was getting on fine with them and have got my handicap down from 28 to 26.

I have always had a slice/fade with my driver and woods but now developed a hook with my irons and cant seem to find out why. I have moved closer to the ball at address as i was reaching too much, I feel that i have OK swing as i can hit good shots from 9 iron to my Wedge.

My question is would moving closer to the ball be causing the hook or would it be a good idea to be custom fitted with some new clubs.

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Standing nearer would normally make the swing a bit more upright so you'd be more inclined to fade it.
Are the grips on your irons the same as your woods or thinner?

MattCarter

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Bob you have made me think now i think they are the same as they are both normal grips that came with the clubs but i will look tonight to confirm.

I moved closer due to my arms not hanging straight down at address.

SocketRocket

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
If the ball starts straight then bends right your swingpath is coming inside the clubface direction. If it starts straight and turns left then the swingpath is coming outside the clubface direction.

Clubface determins the balls initial direction and swingpath any sidespin created.

DaveM

Tour Winner
Visit site
{Clubface determins the balls initial direction and swingpath any sidespin created.}

Should'nt that be the other way round???

Swingpath= direction

Face open= slice

Face close= hook

If I was to hit out to in with a square club face that would be a pull. If you then add a open club face. It would start off as a pull then, fade or slice back into the fairway.

Last edited:

SocketRocket

Ryder Cup Winner