Bunkers with water

Deeber

New member
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
5
Visit site
Hi

Quick question. Last Saturday in our medal I landed in a bunker 50% full of water. Bunkers we still in play but there was nowhere I could take a free drop in the bunker that was not closer to the hole. What is the rule here? I elected to drop within the bunker closer to the hole where of course it plugged and ended up walking off with a triple!! Could I have dropped outside the hazard?
 
Hi

Quick question. Last Saturday in our medal I landed in a bunker 50% full of water. Bunkers we still in play but there was nowhere I could take a free drop in the bunker that was not closer to the hole. What is the rule here? I elected to drop within the bunker closer to the hole where of course it plugged and ended up walking off with a triple!! Could I have dropped outside the hazard?

Yes, under penalty
 
Thanks Chris

So dropping nearer the hole in the hazard is OK without penalty?
NO it is not.

c. Relief for Ball in Bunker
If a player’s ball is in a bunker and there is interference by an abnormal course condition on the course, the player may take either free relief under (1) or penalty relief under (2):

(1) Free Relief: Playing from Bunker. The player may take free relief under Rule 16.1b, except that:
(2) Penalty Relief: Playing from Outside Bunker (Back-On-the-Line Relief). For one penalty stroke, the player may drop the original ball or another ball (see Rule 14.3) in a relief area based on a reference line going straight back from the hole through the spot of the original ball:
 
No, you cant drop nearer the hole in any circumstances that I'm aware of.

Now that the Q's been answered & forgetting bunkers) maybe the rules guys would like to list the circumstances where a drop nearer the the hole is allowed?
 
Or when it gets stuck up a tree and you drop below where the ball is.
19.2c/1 – Reference Point for Lateral Relief When Ball Is Not on the Ground
When a player’s ball lies above the ground (such as in a bush or a tree), the player may take lateral relief by using the point on the ground directly below the spot of the ball as his or her reference point:
 
19.2c/1 – Reference Point for Lateral Relief When Ball Is Not on the Ground
When a player’s ball lies above the ground (such as in a bush or a tree), the player may take lateral relief by using the point on the ground directly below the spot of the ball as his or her reference point:

The reference point is nearer the hole - basic trigonometry......but I get your point!
 
Top