Bunker with animal scrape on perimeter

Bunkermagnet

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
10,284
Location
Kent
Visit site
Situation....
A ball lands in the very back of a bunker and into an animal scrape/dig. This scrape is about 8 inches wide and has no grass between the bunkers original perimeter and the edge closest to the bunker, so that the perimeter of the bunker appears now to have a "spot" on it. The scrape also has sand in it from players shots, raking of the bunker and hasnt been repaired.
So the questions are is the scrape now part of the hazard, and from that is the free drop to be taken back in the bunker or to the side on the grass not nearer the hole?
Cheers
 
We had this at Dartford at you had relief. Local rule was you measured if the ball was inside or outside of the bunker and that determined if the drop was back in or out.
 
To modify slightly

Bunker
A specially prepared area of sand, which is often a hollow from which turf or soil was removed.
This are not part of a bunker:
  • All other areas of sand on the course that are not inside the edge of a prepared area

But is it 'prepared' ?
 

Attachments

  • prepared.jpg
    prepared.jpg
    54.8 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:
As described, and for the reasons set out in Rulefan's post, it's outside the bunker and relief should be taken appropriate to that situation.
 
Top