Blades

daveyc2k2

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Right guys, this may seem like a stupid question, but last night at the range there is a bag with a load of old clubs in, I thought I would try out a blade as have never hit one before. It was a Taylormade TP (I think) 6 iron. Now I have heard that high handicappers like myself (20) would struggle to hit these type of clubs, however my first shot went long and straight with a hint of draw (i usually have a slight fade). I am now thinking about buying some second hand and as cheap as possible to see if I can get on with them. Any recommendations?

Thanks.

Aztecs27

Money List Winner
Visit site
Most blades by Mizuno and Titleist are held in pretty high esteem by most.

But I'm not a blade expert. Someone will be along shortly to advise.

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
Any one can hit a bladed iron.

Any one having a good day can play an entire round with blades.

What seperates them out as being suitable only for good ball strikers is that you need to be able to play with them on a day when you are swinging like an idiot.

You will probably find the reason why you hit it well was concentration. If you hit your current clubs with this level of concentration, you would hit them better.

chris661

Money List Winner
Visit site
If you can afford to take a hit on them try them, you might get on with them and find you actually enjoy using them. Although as Murph says they can be a ba$tard on your bad days but after using mine for a almost a year now, and after listening to all the doom merchants telling me not to get them, I cant see myself using anything else (for a while).

You do have to be prepared to lose money though and if you can why not.

Ethan

Money List Winner
Visit site