Benross HTX Compressor Type R

njmathers

Visit site
Has anyone got or used any of this range before? They seem to have amazing reviews. Benross have just brought out a new range that seems like it will replace these (Evolution R), so there's a good deal out there at the minute.

I'm a beginner, so this would be my first set. Would these be a decent place to start?

I could get irons (4-PW), a driver, and a hybrid all brand new for under £400.

Interested to hear thoughts from others who might have had their hands on the clubs.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
I don't think it's the compressor range, but my hybrid is a Benross HTX, certainly. I got it £40 second hand which is very little, and it does the job. From reviews I saw at the time I got it, Benross are rated as being good gear for a lower price than competitors.

chor808

Hacker
Visit site
I have a set of the type R irons, I'm using them over the Cobra irons I also have. They are very long irons however I guess a lot is due to loft. After less than a years use they look very scruffy, the paint has come off them on the back etc but nothing that would stop you playing them...I paid less than 200 I believe for the 5-PW set. KBS shaft and golf pride grips. They sound almost pingy when hit and I've had a few that have gone way longer than expected, not sure why.

As a starter you will be fine with these, don't expect any sell on value (maybe that is the same for most clubs?).

njmathers

Visit site
I have a set of the type R irons, I'm using them over the Cobra irons I also have. They are very long irons however I guess a lot is due to loft. After less than a years use they look very scruffy, the paint has come off them on the back etc but nothing that would stop you playing them...I paid less than 200 I believe for the 5-PW set. KBS shaft and golf pride grips. They sound almost pingy when hit and I've had a few that have gone way longer than expected, not sure why.